Lebanon Women’s Monodrama Festival | Gulf newspaper

Lebanon Women’s Monodrama Festival | Gulf newspaper
Lebanon Women’s Monodrama Festival | Gulf newspaper


May 12, 2023

17:13 pm

The “Tiro Association of Arts” and “Istanbuli Theater” announced the holding of the third session of the “Lebanon International Theater Festival for Women’s Monodrama” at the “Free Lebanese National Theater” in the cities of Tyre and Tripoli, from May 13 to 16, with the participation of theatrical performances from Spain, Portugal, Chile and Tunisia. Romania and Lebanon, under the slogan “Women are a force for change” and within the activities of Tripoli, Capital of Arab Culture.
The festival celebrates the femininity and noun of women and shows their place in the language of adversity theatrically and artistically, saluting women and their struggle in various fields, in partnership with the Swiss “Drosos” Foundation and in cooperation with the Spanish embassy.
The festival is held annually to celebrate women and their theatrical and artistic work and for the sake of equality, freedom, social justice and their empowerment in society. The first session of the festival was launched in 2019 and paid tribute to the late actress and director Siham Nasser. Eight theatrical performances from Arab and foreign countries participated in it. The first Lebanese theater conference was held within the festival. He raised the issue of the theater crisis in Lebanon and the importance of breaking cultural centralism and the role of theater in awareness and change, and researching the status of theater in terms of writing, directing, acting, the relationship with the audience, and the role of cultural centers outside the capital. The second round was launched in 2021 and the honor list included: Rene Deek, Watfaa Hammadi and Fadwa Hashem. Local, Arab and foreign theatrical performances participated in it, competing within the official competition for awards for best actress, best script, best scenography, costumes, best directing, best integrated work, and the jury award.